Red River Unitarian Universalist Church

515 N. Burnett Ave. | P.O. Box 1806 | Denison,  Texas  75021  |   (903) 231-3232  |
Meditation: 9:00 a.m.
Adult Forum: 10:00 a.m.
Worship Service and Children's Religious Education Class: 11:15 a.m. (directions)

‘Lay-led congregations’, of which Red River UU Church is one, are congregations that lead themselves without a minister. Unitarian Universalism has a proud history of congregational lay leadership. Our congregation is responsible for every aspect of our organization. Though volunteer committees and elected congregational boards, lay leaders manage most aspects of our Unitarian Universalist Church life, including:

  • Organizing and leading worship services
  • Choosing religious education curricula for adults and children
  • Maintaining our building and facilities
  • Managing finances
  • Determining congregational positions on social and earth justice issues
  • Determining the vision and growth of our congregation
  • Honor the Democratic process in our leadership

We are proud of our lay leadership and they are named with contact information below.

Current Board of Trustees 2016- 2017:    

Helen Schulze President (2018)
Dick Powell Treasurer (2018)
Megan Hutchinson Secretary (2019)
Jim Holmes Trustee (2019)
Linda Tracy Vice President (2019)
Dan Althoff Past President (2018)



Committee on Ministry
Marla Loturco (2020)
Robert Shelton (2019)
Carole Harner (2018)
Nominating Committee
David Dyer (2020)
Elbert Hill (2019)
Lanan Shelton (2018)


Adult Forum
This Position Is Open
Aesthetics Team
Bruce Cameron
Maura Shehan
Joyce Peak
Paula Blackshear
Building & Grounds
Marilyn Alexander - Leader
Jim Murphy
Bruce Cameron
Peter Schulze
Chalice/Interest Coordinator
This Position Is Open
Children's Religious Education
This Position Is Open

Doug Strong - Leader
Historian is open
Marla Loturco
Doug Strong
Marion Hill
Elbert Hill - Leader
Doug Strong
This Position Is Open - Leader


      Good Times Team
         Team 1

         Team 2

         Team 3

         Team 4

Marion Hill - Leader
Amy Hoffman-Shehan
Tommi Homuth
Kelly Cofield-Dyer - Co-Leader
Megan Hutchinson - Co-Leader
Good Times Team - no Leader
Doug Strong
Jim Holmes
Jen Linson
Dick & Carol Powell
Lynn Cates
Amy Hoffman-Shehan
Linda Tracy
Marion & Elbert Hill
Donna Torper
Marilyn Alexander
Ronda DeClaire
Robert & Lanan Shelton
Megan Hutchinson
Helen Schulze
Tommi Homouth
Kelly & David Dyer
NTUUC Representative
Marla Loturco
RE Support Team
Dan Althoff
Carolyn Cameron
Tommi Homuth
Safe Congregation Panel
Helen Schulze - Leader
Committee on Ministry
Social Action
Rebecca Crystal - Leader
Doug Strong
Amy Hoffman-Shehan
Marla Loturco

      Worship Associates

      A/V Team

Leader position rotates
Doug Strong
Marla Loturco
Dan Althoff
Robert Shelton
Angie Cates
Tommi Homuth
Rebecca Crystal
Christopher Grimes
Robert Shelton
Ronda DeCaire
Meg Hutchenson
Tommi Homuth
Rebecca Crystal
Doug Strong
Marla Loturco
Carole Harner
Marilyn Alexander

Red River Unitarian Universalist Church | | P.O. Box 1806, Denison, TX  75021
Meeting at Red River Unitarian Universalist Church, 515 N. Burnett Ave., Denison,  Texas 

Please send comments and suggestions to:
Last updated: 07-January-2018